HOMECONTACT  |  DEPARTMENTS  |  FAQFORMS  |  LINKSSEARCH INDEX

ATV | BOATS | SNOWMOBILES

ATV/ORM/ORV

New and/or transferred recreational vehicles are registered with the Polk County Recorder. ATV's registered since January 2000 must have a title.


OFF-ROAD UTILITY VEHICLES ARE REQUIRED TO BE TITLED AND REGISTERED
Effective 7/1/2012 ORVs will be required to be registered and titled in accordance with Iowa Code Chapter 321I.

REGISTRATIONS

Registrations are valid January 1st thru December 31st annually.  Transfers not made within 30 days from the sale date will be charged a $5.00 penalty in addition to the normal fees.  Renewal period for off-highway vehicles begins September 1st annually.

FEE SCHEDULE

  • All new registrations - $17.75
  • Renewals - $17.75
  • Iowa nonresident user permits - $17.75
  • Duplicate registrations - $7.75
  • Titles - $11.50
  • Liens - $ 11.50

Bill of Sale Required for all transfers.

Sales of all recreational vehicles are subject to the 6% State sales tax (plus any local option taxes). This applies to sales by individuals and dealers.

FORMS

 

For the most current rules and regulations, visit the Iowa DNR Website